Enter your keyword


Undergraduate Program in Physics, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Bandung Institute of Technology is one of the best and the oldest Physics study program in Indonesia. This program was opened in 1948 and is the first study program under the Department of Physics. The Department has been continuously growing by offering other study programs at master and doctoral levels. However, in line with the changes of ITB's strategic policies in responding to scientific developments, especially those related to education and research programs, the concept of human resource management of ITB has changed. In 2006, the department as a home base of faculty staff was liquidated, and as the replacement, the research divisions as the smallest entity to manage and to develop faculty staff were established. The faculty was then re-organized and becoming a cluster of a streamlined research division. Furthermore, the physics program is managed by the faculty and supported by six research divisions in the field of physics. Currently, the physics program is growing alongside five other study programs, i.e., Master Program in Physics, Doctoral Program in Physics, Master Program in Physics Teaching, Master Program in Nuclear Science and Engineering, and Doctoral Program in Nuclear Engineering. The education quality of the physics program is assured through external quality assurance by the accreditation process. The program is accredited with the rating "Excellent" by the National Accreditation Board for Higher Education (BAN-PT). The program is also certified by the ASEAN University Network-Quality Assurance. Recently, the program is accredited by ASIIN (The Accreditation Agency for Study Programmes in Engineering, Informatics, Natural Sciences and Mathematics), an international accreditation agency based in Germany. The physics program is also recognized as the best physics program in Indonesia, as listed in the QS World University Subject Ranking. Supporting by 74 lectures in six research divisions that have different research focuses: the physics of complex systems research division, the physics of electronic material research division, the physics of magnetic and photonic research division, the nuclear physics and biophysics research division, the theoretical high energy physics research division, and the instrumentation and computational physics research division; we will continue to innovate and produce the nation's next generation who will contribute to the development of the nation and the development of science and technology in the world.